Week 19, Day 3

Itchy Belly
I was at a girlfriends place over the weekend and I asked her if she ever got really itchy during her pregnancy. She’s a mother to a beautiful 8 month old boy. Surprisingly, she said yes, in fact during her 3rd trimester she even broke out into a rash all around her stomach. I recently started to notice my belly itch here and there, and now I’m constantly itching as if I have bugs running over my skin. initially I thought the belly cover elastic on my maternity jeans were too tight and irritating my skin, but apparently this is a common thing for pregnant women. As our stomachs grow and our skin stretches, it can start to itch and even become so irritated, rashes can form over your entire stomach area.

Luckily for me, she had some of her Dr.Hauschka body oil left over from her pregnancy and gave it to me along with a bottle of Mama Bee leg & foot creme. I must say, both are excellent! The Dr. Hauschka body oil’s are quite pricey so I was ecstatic to get it for free. It’s made of jojoba, and organic sunflower oils which delicately scents the body and calms and soothes even the most irritated skin. I still have trouble with some oil/cream scents so I add a few drops to my lotion each morning and start the day on a sweet itch free note.

Although I haven’t had any pains or issues with my legs or feet YET, the Mama Bee leg & foot creme is meant to relax and provide instant relief with its peppermint oils, rosemary leaf extract encouraging healthy circulation in the legs bringing relief to sore, tired, and stressed legs and feet. The peppermint scent of the cream reminds me of mint chocolate chip ice cream, speaking of which … I now feel like some ice cream.

2 Responses

  1. My wife gets a really bad itchy belly and finds Bio Oil helps! Does nothing for stretch marks though, I don’t think anything does.

    You might enjoy my blog if you want to know how your partner might be feeling during your pregnancy!

    All the best,

    Ben

    • Hi Ben. Thanks for dropping by. Thanks for reminding me of stretch marks, another wonderful side effect of pregnancy we women have to look forward too. Hopefully I’m like my mother and won’t get any. Fingers crossed. BTW – had a chance to review your blog and it’s quite entertaining getting a fathers persepective on pregnancy.

      Happy Bloggings.
      Jenn

Leave a Reply

