Week 21, Day 1

Baby Center

Papa T’s coworker suggested that I track baby T’s development on babycenter.ca. It’s a website for soon to be mothers who are planning, expecting or for new mothers to learn about parenthood and what to expect when expecting. I’ve pursued through it a few times before, but lately it’s been my go to website on baby’s development and health. A great little website. According to baby center, baby T could measure about 27cm from crown to heel now which makes him 8cm larger than he was at my last ultrasound. His eyebrows and eyelids are fully developed and his fingernails now cover his fingertips. Week by week tracking the development of baby T and monthly having all this information confirmed by my doctor is fascinating. Now that I can feel him move about and bump around inside of me, it feels so real. Sometimes I feel like he’s going to pop right out, like something from aliens. I’m really enjoying the little bumps now before the bigger and more violent bumps arrive in a few weeks time!

While Papa T was away in the States for work this week, I was camping out at my parents place. They have a 3 yr old Maltese named June and she thinks my tummy is her bed. I was laying down watching a little tv with June stretched out napping on my stomach when baby T decided to give her a little love tap. I guess it wasn’t as little as I thought as June jumped up and stared straight down at my stomach giving a little moaning growl…. almost like saying “wtf…”.

Also, now I have to really watch what comes out of my mouth and who I surround myself around. There’s a saying: ‘Little pitchers have big ears’. Baby T can now hear my conversations! If I talk, read, or sing to baby T, he can hear me. Some studies have found that newborns will suck more vigorously when read to from a book they heard frequently in utero.

And even though I’m suppose to be feeling quite comfortable these days, I’m not. This, in fact, is suppose to be the most enjoyable time in my pregnancy, not too big yet, and the usual aches and pains associated with pregnancy like nausea, frequent urination, and fatigue are for the most part suppose to be gone. However, it’s not. I’m still very tired and my back aches constantly. The nausea is still there and for the most part I can eat but there are those odd days when I’m so nauseous that the smell of cooked rice or a perfume will trigger my gag reflexes. I’m only throwing up in the mornings now which I can deal with but the headaches and constant nausea has been a drag.

I have yet to post a photo of my baby belly but I will …. coming up next….

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

