Week 21, Day 3

Big Baby

I’m so glad I was able to attend my girlfriend Jo’s bridal shower this weekend. When I received her shower invite a month ago, I was worried I wouldn’t be better by then and would have to miss it. Thank the Lord my morning sickness died down a couple of weeks ago and I was able to attend since it looks like I’ll be missing her wedding which is going to be one of the most beautiful outdoor weddings ever down at Chateau des Charmes Windery on Niagara On The Lake, only one of my favorite places in Ontario. However, the idea of driving down to Niagara so close to my due date probably isn’t the best idea. Especially when I’m constantly told from my Dr that our baby T is one BIG baby.

How in the world a sick, starving mother would have such a big baby is beyond me. It must be the genes since my husband arrived into this world at over 10 lbs and some odd ounces! Could you imagine giving birth to a 10 lbs baby?! I shutter at the thought. At the bridal shower, one of Jo’s old friends from out-of-town who is due next month told me her baby is not technically due for another month and a half but because she’s so big, already weighing 5 lbs, that she might have to be induced half a month early. I asked her if her baby was always a large baby and she said yes. Not only that, but her husband was born at 11 lbs! O M G!

As small, cute and wonderful as a baby may be, at over 10 lbs, it’s a little scary when you imagine where the baby’s coming out of. And I’m aiming for a natural birth, a C-Section would be my absolute last option if all others fail and either myself or the baby is in any immediate danger. Hearing her story made my heart skip a beat … I don’t mind having our baby earlier than our due date, but let’s aim for 6-8lbs at most. My Dr and I have some talking to do next week.

4 Responses

  1. Oh that big baby ticket is the worst!!! Your baby knows just how big to grow and your body can certainly do it if left un-meddled with (especially if you are upright and can feel to push, rather than being numb from the waist down). If you can change positions and move in labor and are not leashed to monitors and machines, even more to your advantage!!!

    My son weighed in at 11 lbs 6 oz and 23 inches long. I am your average Jane…5’7″….If I can do it, I have no doubt you can do it too! A friend just birthed her son this weekend and he was a pound less. it is possible!! Good luck!

    • Wow… 11 lbs 6 oz and you did it all natural delivery? I’m so impressed!
      I’m sure there are many mothers out there that have delivered larger babies, but I’m 5’3 on the smaller side so the idea of pushing a 10 lbs + baby out of me totally scares me. Congrats on your delivery and thanks – I’ll keep you all posted on what happens.

  2. Your baby is already going to be a big baby? But you lost so much weight!
    Patrick was 10 pounds when he was born, I’m hoping that I won’t have a big baby but I don’t know how I could considering I’m pretty small!

    • Yeah, apparently it doesn’t matter so early in the pregnancy since the baby just sucks up all my nutrients. We’ve been told from the very beginning that our baby is larger than the ave, I thought it would change but nope, not yet. Still a big baby. LOL

Leave a Reply

