FALSE CONTRACTIONS

I was on my way to the airport to pick up my husband when no more than 2 mins on the road I felt a slight tingle in my left arm … mostly around my wrist and elbow. I brushed it off as joint pains I get all the time but then I noticed my right leg starting to tighten and cramp. I had not hit the highway yet so I pulled the car over and stopped the car on the side of the road. I sat there with my bottle of water and tried to relax my cramping leg (thank God I was wearing flip flops) and then it hit me, a tightening in my lower abs. It was a slight pressure followed by a severe striking pain. It literally took my breath away. My first inital thought … “OH MY GOSH… I cant’ be going into labor now, it’s to early!.

I drank my water and tried to breathe it away. It started to settle a bit and prayerfully I started the car again and pulled out on the road when it hit again … there was no way I was driving to the airport like this, so I turned the car around and went back home. I messaged Ed and told him to taxi it home because I was in no condition to drive. He freaked out a little asking if I had to go to the hospital but I knew it wasn’t hospital severe so I told him no and that I would meet him at home. Good thing too … apparently the highway express lanes were closed and if I had gotten on the highway I would have been stranded there in pain in the car alone on the highway … !

So I’m home now. As told by many when you have false contractions, drink some water and lay on my left side and so that’s what I did after I stripped down. The pain is slowly going away but my joints are still aching. I know my little one has turned and is pushing down on my pelvis but man this was so unexpected, it startled me. Does this mean I could go into early labor??? I go to see my dr on Friday so he’ll tell me then how much Nate has dropped and how dilated I am if I am at all. Maybe he will make an early appearance. Just hang in there 3 more weeks Nathan … I want to be sure I carry you full term and that you’re fully developed so you can breathe well on your own. Just 3 more weeks ok Nathan! Then you can show your beautiful face … or better yet, wait the full 6 weeks so mommy can finish preping for your arrival!

It felt so real for the first time this entire pregnancy! He’s coming ….

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

