Week 35, Day 4

They Call This Nesting…

One of my girlfriends asked me the other day … “so are you nesting yet?” which kind of caught me off guard. It’s hard to say if I am or not since I’ve always been big into trying to keep the house clean and I love organizing things, but lately even my husband will comment on how much I do around the house and how I keep wanting to change things, especially in the nursery. If there’s nothing to do, I will make something to do.

Nesting Instinct… this is an uncontrollable urge to clean one’s house brought on by a desire to prepare a nest for the new baby, to tie up loose ends of old projects and to organize your world. Females of the animal kingdom are all equipped with this same need. It is a primal instinct. Just as you see birds making their nests, mothers-to-be do exactly the same thing.

My weird nesting habit these days is rearranging the nursery over and over again. I’ve already moved the furniture around twice now and Ed has had enough of that so he won’t help me anymore – but the clothes and all the little things in the nursery, I’m constantly hanging, re-hanging, re-organizing, moving around and the urge to just sit in the nursery to the point where I fall asleep in the nursing chair has been huge! Not only that, but I’ve pulled out my hospital bag about 100 times, put stuff into it but never kept anything in there and I keep telling myself I need to pack my labour bag before I go into labour for real. But not once did I think I was nesting. So to answer your question L, yes my lady … I think I am nesting!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

