Baking Bug

I’ve been bit by the baking bug.
This past weekend, we had a bbq for my brother in laws birthday at the in-laws and my mother in law gave me a basket full of fresh blueberries she had picked the day before in Milton. I already had a box of blueberries at home so I decided to make some blueberry citrus sponge cakes to use up as many berries as I could. My brother came over this morning to help me make the cakes … which turned out oh so yummy!



I think it took him the entire time to whisk the egg whites as it did for me to put all the other ingredients together! Haha. But that’s the hardest part in making this cake so I’m thankful he was here to do it for me since I don’t have an automatic mixer. In return, I bought him lunch.


The crazy part, I still have so many blueberries left over. I’m going blueberry crazy! Good thing I like blueberries and they’re super great for you too. Yum! Recipe is below:

Ingredients
2 cups of sifted cake and pastry flour
2/3 cup granulated sugar
2 tbsp baking powder
1/4tsp salt
1/2cup vegetable oil
1 tbsp grated orange rind
1/3cup orange juice
2 tsp grated lemon rind
2 tbsp lemon juice
2 tsp vanilla
8 egg whites
3 tbsp icing sugar
2 cups blueberryblueberries

Glaze:
1/4cup granulated sugar
1/4cup orange juice

Preparation:
In large bowl, whisk together cake-and-pastry flour, granulated sugar, baking powder and salt.

In separate bowl, whisk together oil, orange rind and juice, lemon rind and juice, and vanilla; beat into dry ingredients until smooth and thick.

In another bowl, beat egg whites until foamy; beat in icing sugar, 1 tbsp (15 mL) at a time, until stiff glossy peaks form. Fold one-third into batter; fold in remaining whites. Fold in blueberries.

Scrape into greased and flour-dusted 10-inch (3 L) Bundt or tube cake pan. Swirl knife through batter to remove air bubbles.

Bake in 350°F (180°C) oven until cake tester inserted in centre comes out clean, about 40 minutes. Let cool in pan on rack for 30 minutes.

Glaze: Meanwhile, in small saucepan, bring sugar and juice to boil, stirring; boil for 1 minute. Let cool.
Loosen cake from edges of pan. Invert onto rack; brush with glaze. Let cool.

2 Responses

  1. I LOVE blueberries. I baked a blueberry pie the last time I got them at the farmers market. I’m going to save this recipe and try this out! thanks for sharing!

    • hmm… blueberry pie sounds good! i was thinking of a crumble or a cheesecake for the remaining berries, now i’m thinking pie 🙂

Leave a Reply

