Week 38, Day 5

NIGHT SCARE

The phone woke me up this morning. It was my mother and father in law … yes they both call me sometimes at the same time, they’re on 2 different phones but on the line together so they can both hear and talk simulationously. It’s quite cute!
My father in law called to ask for directions to my hospital. I was taken aback and told them I’m at home, not at the hospital, it’s not time yet! Apparently my husband called his parents last night and told them I was having contractions last night. shaking my head ….. I guess he forgot to tell them that if I was in real labour or at the hospital he’d let them know. They were up all night waiting to hear from us and decided to call this morning to check.

Truth is, we did have a bit of a scare yesterday. Contractions started in the afternoon and lasted till around midnight, and then calmed down only to be waken around 5am from slight contractions again. It was different this time around, really sharp pains, hip pains and pressure on my back. But no baby yet. I actually woke up this morning from back pains… from the feel of things, the big day is close!

I know some mothers-to-be who have no Braxon Hicks experience, but from what I’ve been told, false contractions are actually a good thing this late in the game. It’s the bodies way of spreading out the labour pains over a period of time in prep for the big arrival instead of 1 big stress on the body on the day of, so I should be thankful, and I am. 🙂

I’m actually really anxious and excited to meet the little guy now! It feels like I’ve been pregnant forever and I’m ready to become a mother and start my road to recovery. So, should we try natural ways to bring on labour for real??? Here are some tips to induce natural labour:

1. Nipple Stimulation, which is something I’ve been doing anyways to open milk ducts.
Nipple stimulation is the gentle rubbing or rolling of the nipple to encourage the start of contractions. The theory is that oxytocin, a hormone that causes contractions, is released in the body when the breasts are stimulated.

2. SEX, sad to say, but this is something I’ve been avoiding! The feeling of sex externally while feeling my baby move inside me internally really freaked me out. I feel like he can feel what I’m feeling and it just totally freaked me out! Sex as means of getting labour started is thought to work in three ways: firstly the movement may help to stimulate the uterus into action; secondly, sex can trigger the release of oxytocin, the ‘contraction’ hormone; thirdly, semen contains a high concentration of prostaglandins which help to ripen, or soften, the neck of the womb (cervix) ready for it to dilate when labour starts.

3. Walking, something I haven’t been able to too much of because of my crampings but the explanation appears to be that the pressure of your baby’s head pressing down on the cervix from the inside stimulates the release of oxytocin, hopefully bringing on labour. Also, just being upright gets the forces of gravity working for you, encouraging the baby to move down onto the cervix.

I’m really hoping this wkend we’ll have some fun news to share with everyone!!!

2 Responses

  1. Wow, at least you now know which route to take to the hospital :0)
    We didnt tell anyone that we were in labour until we got transferred from the maternity ward to the delivery suite, just in case it was a false alarm. I couldnt agree with you more about #2. Hopefully the little guy arrives this weekend for you. I have another 5 wks………

    • i’m like you, i dont want to say anything to anyone until we’re in the delivery room and it’s a sure thing but i understand how anxious and excited Ed is too …

      are you going to have to have a c-sec or natural? do you know yet?

Leave a Reply

